Want to become a member?  

Ronald D. Kenyon Award

The Ronald D. Kenyon Award for Research and Education is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to research and education surrounding asphalt pavement technology; environmental, health, and safety; and asphalt pavement sustainability. The Kenyon Award honors those deserving individuals whose work and leadership have made a significant contribution to the advancement of the asphalt pavement industry.


In January 2012, Dr. Larry Benefield received the award for his work with the National Center for Asphalt Technology at Auburn University in Alabama.


NAPA Research & Education Foundation Chairman Peter Wilson with
National Center for Asphalt Technology Director Randy West


Past Recipients

  • 1991 — Thomas W. Kennedy, Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
  • 1992 — Jon A. Epps, Ph.D., P.E., University of Nevada, Reno
  • 1993 — Damian J. Kulash, Ph.D., Strategic Highway Research Program
  • 1994 — Thomas B. Deen, P.E., Transportation Research Board
  • 1995 — Matthew W. Witczak, Ph.D., PCS/Law Engineering
  • 1996 — Byron E. Ruth, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • 1997 — Marshall R. Thompson, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 1998 — E. Ray Brown, Ph.D., National Center for Asphalt Technology at Auburn University
  • 1999 — Paul F. Parks, Ph.D., Auburn University
  • 2000 — Byron Lord, Federal Highway Administration
  • 2001 — J. Don Brock, Ph.D., P.E., Astec Industries Inc.
  • 2002 — Carl L. Monismith, Ph.D., P.E., University of California, Berkeley
  • 2003 — Joe P. Mahoney, Ph.D., University of Washington
  • 2004 — R. Gary Hicks, Ph.D., P.E., Oregon State University
  • 2005 — Stephen F. Brown, OBE, DSc, FREng, University of Nottingham
  • 2012 — Larry D. Benefield, Ph.D., P.E., Auburn University
  • 2016 — John Bukowski, Federal Highway Administration