Want to become a member?  

Elected December 1997

Roger L. Yarbrough


Roger Yarbrough is a true leader for the Hot Mix Asphalt Industry. Throughout his career, he has exerted influence at the national level. By participating in the Transportation Research Board, on the Executive Committee of the Strategic Highway Research Program, and in the National Asphalt Pavement Associaton, he has made his mark in the Industry.


As the only contractor serving on the Executive Committee of the Strategic Highway Research Program, Mr. Yarbrough gained and maintained the respect of that eminent group of academics, researchers, public-policy makers, and technologists. He articulated the needs of the highway construction industry and, working with state transportation agencies, helped to focus the Strategic Highway Research program on asphalt on practical results. Early on, he advocated the conversion and packaging of the research results into a systematic collection of practical products that could be readily understood and applied by the highway engineering and construction community. 


Mr. Yarbrough's service with other committees and task forces of the Transportation Research Board led to the creation of asphalt user/producer groups throughout the United States and Canada and contributed to the establishment of the Superpave Lead States Program.


An active member of the National Asphalt Pavement Association (NAPA) for many years, Mr. Yarbrough served as chairman of the Board in 1984. He chaired numerous NAPA Committees and Task Forces over the years and served as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Center for Asphalt Technology in 1994 and 1995. Mr. Yarbrough was NAPA's Man of the Year in 1988.


Always active as a voulnteer at the regional level as well, Mr. Yarbrouh was recognized by the Illinois Asphalt Pavement Association with its Most Active Member award in 1976 and 1985.


Mr. Yarbrough has been a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Illinois since 1960. He was president of Apcon Corporation from 1966 to 1996, and served as CEO and Chairman from 1996 until his retirement in 1997.